Apr 27, 2012
tom

“your users are out of order, click re-order to fix” – what exactly does this mean and why does it effect a programs ability to load?

Question

“your users are out of order, click re-order to fix” – what exactly does this mean and why does it effect a programs ability to load?

OS: Windows 7 64 bit ultimate edition

What does it mean when right-clicking on a file and clicking on security you see a message that says this “your users are out of order, click re-order to fix”.

What exactly does it mean that users are out of order and how could this prevent a program from working properly? Please let me know if you need more info to answer this and I will provide it.

Thank you

Asked by Patrick

Answer

Windows ACLs are applied in a certain order to be effective. Back in the WinNT and Windows 2000 days, the command-line utilities to modify file-permissions could cause problems if you blindly added/removed things. For example, if you were granting a group Modify permissions when they’d previously been granted R/O, it would add a second ACL with Modify and the ACL list would still have both.

They’ve since fixed this in the command-line utilities. However, this means that the various other utilities over the years have had to be modified to handle the old-broken behavior, and that’s the dialog you see when you encounter it.

It is safe to click ‘Fix’.

Answered by sysadmin1138

Related posts:

  1. How do I grant users the ability to install windows services?
  2. Effect of distance from server on page load speed
  3. What is a good way to allow restricted users the ability to run a script that requires admin privilages?
  4. One Click Browse the Web For Windows Server
  5. Preventing users from running certain programs

Leave a comment